Do what you love and do it well! A few pointers on how to stand out and get noticed!

As a twenty-something year old, times can be pretty tough. If you’re still in college you’re probably competing with hundreds of other students to be at the top of your class. If you’ve joined the workforce, then you are at the bottom of the ladder probably trying to find a way to climb up to the top. For those of you who are entrepreneurs and are trying to get the word out about your passion, you may feel like you’re one idea among thousands. I’m with you ladies and gentlemen. It’s a rough world out there. But instead of focusing on the things you can’t control (other people or other stressors) let’s focus on what we can do!

How can we stand out? How can we be successful? When I ask myself these questions I usually answer them like this..”Cait, you already work so hard. You’re doing all you can”. Bull shit. I can do more and so can you! We just need to be smart about it. Here are a few things that I think can help you STAND OUT. Even if you aren’t the student with the highest GPA, or the employee with the most experience, or the entrepreneur with the best idea, that doesn’t mean that you can’t be the person who is the most successful.

There are plenty of millionaires an billionaires that in all reality probably weren’t as qualified or as smart as their counterparts but somehow they figured it out. That can be me and that can be you! Whatever your dream is, quit telling yourself that someone else deserves it. I promise you THEY DON’T. YOU DESERVE IT! Now, go freakin get it!

Here are a few of the things that I think can set you apart from everyone else:

-Work with Passion and Enthusiasm-

If you are excited about what you do, you can get other people excited about what you do too! I’m not saying you have to skip around the office cheering about your area of interest, but when someone asks you about what you do..tell them! Don’t act like it’s no big deal, let them feel your passion and enthusiasm when you explain your interest.

-Be Positive-

I’m telling you right now, negativity ruins everything. It ruins ideas and it ruins lives. If you are holding on to negative thoughts about your future then you’re setting yourself up for failure. Instead of hiding away in the dark shadowy corners of your mind, turn a friggin light on. Try to be more positive about your situation. Plus people hate working with negative people. Not only is it bad for you, but you’re ruining other people’s day too. If you have trouble being positive, try to think of 3 positive things a day. One with each meal throughout the day. Maybe these thoughts will help you get through your day!

 

-Be Disciplined-

Being disciplined is difficult sometimes. Find a routine that is useful and works for you and stick to it. Keep after it every day.

“Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity”

If you aren’t diligent in your work, it will be hard for you to get anywhere. Give your passion plenty of attention. Work hard on it.

 

-Don’t do what everyone else does.. do better!-

The status quo isn’t good enough for you and me. We have to go above and beyond what others are doing. I’m not saying to work yourself into the ground. I’m saying to work differently. If you’re creative, use that! If you’re great with numbers, use that calculator! Apply your skills in a way that others aren’t. Perfect the art of you-ness and use it to get what you want.

 

-Network-

Network like you’ve never networked before. Today it’s so easy to network. We have Facebook, twitter, Instagram, Linked-in, and so many other sites,but in my opinion nothing beats face to face networking. Instead of allowing yourself to become part of a clique, reach out to those around you. Be sincere and get to know who they are and what they want. Then it will be easy to share who you are and what you want!

 

-Be a Competitor- 

Now, I’m not saying to compete with your friends or peers. Compete with yourself! Drive to be better every single day. I used to work with these two guys who would ask each other at the end of the day, “Did you get better today?”. Of course they were joking with each other, but seriously.. that is exactly how we should approach our day!

I’ve had issues with peers and even friends who see me as a threat to their success. Check yourself: if you try to sabotage someone else, that’s not right. If you don’t support others success YOU ARE DOING IT WRONG. If we are working toward a common goal, competition should be welcomed! Use your peer’s success to improve yourself. Lift each other up.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-07 at 9.16.54 PM
So true. Remember this.

 

-Learn from your mistakes-

We all mess up. All we can do is try to correct it. Every time I think about learning from my mistakes I revert to when I played sports. My dad used to always tell me I was “un-coach-able”. I wouldn’t listen. I took everything personally. I shut down. Since my softball playing days, I have been working on being more coachable in life. When I screw up and someone corrects me, I try to take it as a learning experience. When I played sports he also used to tell me, “Don’t make the same mistake twice”. It works in sports and in works in life! Be a good student of life. Learn from your mistakes, don’t make them again, and move on to the next play.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-07 at 9.21.51 PM
My dad and me after I won my 4th Oklahoma State Championship. He made me a champion.

 

Well, I hope these little pointers can help you achieve your own greatness. Now go get it!

 

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, click the “follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by,

Cait

 

Leave a Reply

